LAPRIGA 2023: Juries open nomination for The Game Changers

… Introduce new categories on Environment/Sustainability and Public Sector Campaign_

The Selection Panel of the Lagos Public Relations Industry Gala and Awards (LaPRIGA) is thrilled to announce the commencement of nominations for the 8th Edition of Sub-Sahara Africa’s most prestigious PR awards. As of October 2, 2023, the nomination process is officially open.

Chairman of the Selection Committee, Mr. Chido Nwakama, shared insights into what to anticipate at this year’s award ceremony. He emphasized the panel’s commitment to selecting truly ‘game-changing entries’ in alignment with this year’s theme.

Mr. Nwakama stated, “Today, we are pleased to announce the opening of nominations for the LAPRIGA 2023 Award. This 8th edition promises to be both exciting and distinctive, as the competition continues to intensify. We must maintain this upward trajectory.”

He further added, “This year, our committee is seeking out campaigns that exemplify creativity and genuine game-changing impact. We wholeheartedly encourage certified PR professionals in Lagos to participate in large numbers.”

“As a forward-looking Chapter deeply concerned about issues affecting our well-being on this planet, I am delighted to announce the addition of the ‘Best in Environment/Sustainability Campaign’ category. We urge PR professionals involved in environmental and sustainability campaigns to actively participate.”

“In addition, we are introducing the ‘Best in Public Sector Campaign’ category, alongside the existing ‘Outstanding Public Affairs Practitioner’ category. This new addition aims to celebrate innovative PR initiatives at all levels of government.”

“Once again, this year, we are taking steps to involve and engage stakeholders more deeply in LaPRIGA. Members of the Lagos Chapter of NIPR will play a central role in the 2023 Awards, from nominations to the selection of winners. Our more stringent criteria prioritize inclusion and community participation. LaPRIGA is gaining greater significance and momentum thanks to the dedication and commitment of stakeholders who actively participate and attend the Gala night. We extend our gratitude to the public relations community.”

Stakeholders can participate in multiple ways:
1. Nominate candidates in various categories.
2. Cast their votes for preferred nominees after the shortlisting by the Awards Panel.
3. Seek sponsorship support from their respective organizations.
4. Grace the awards night with their presence and glam.

Here is the timeline for the award process:
– Nominations Open: October 2, 2023
– Nominations Close: November 1, 2023;
– Selection Committee Review of Nominations: November 15, 2023
– Voting by Lagos NIPR members begin: November 18, 2023
– Voting by Lagos NIPR members conclude: November 25, 2023
– Review of voting and final selection conclude: November 30, 2023

The winners will be officially announced at the Gala night scheduled for Friday, December 15, 2023.

This year’s awards ceremony continues the tradition of acknowledging the expanding role of public relations across various domains in today’s modern world. Categories include:

1. Public Relations Practitioner of the Year
2. Best in Technology Public Relations
3. Best in Public Relations Education
4. Best in Hospitality PR
5. Best in Political Communication
6. Best in Entertainment PR
7. Best Use of Research & Measurement
8. Corporate Communication Professional of the Year
9. Most Influential PR Professional
10. Outstanding Public Affairs Practitioner of the Year
11. Best brand in Storytelling
12. Best Innovation in Public Relations
13. Digital and Social Media Agency of the Year
14. Rising Public Relations Practitioner of the Year
15. Best in Crisis and Risk Communication
16. Excellence in Internal Communication & Employee Engagement.
17. Excellence in Community Relations
18. Best in Corporate Social Responsibility
19. Best Supporter of PR
20. Agency of the year
21. Model Agency of All Time
22. Public Relations Journalist of the Year
23. Photo & Video Journalist of the Year
24. Public Sector PR Campaign of the Year
25. Environment and Sustainability PR Award

For a comprehensive understanding of award criteria and eligibility, please visit

Let the search for the game-changers begin!