Lagos Commissioner for Justice elected interim chairman of 36 states’ attorneys-general forum

Lagos State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Moyosore Onigbanjo, has been elected interim Chairman of the Executive Committee of Attorneys-General and Commissioners for Justice of the 36 States in Nigeria at its inaugural meeting held recently in Abuja.

Other members of the Committee are the Rivers State AG, Prof. Zac Adangor (SAN); Abia State AG, Uche Ihediwa (SAN); Taraba State AG, Sam Adda, Benue State AG, Micheal Gusa and Nassarawa State AG, Dr. Karim Kana as Interim Secretary.

The Committee is saddled with the responsibility of running the affairs of the States’ Attorneys-General, arranging meetings, issuing statements on behalf of all the 36 AGs, taking positions on legal issues, advising the Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) and taking or reviewing legal actions on previous issues relevant behalf to all the States.

Other responsibilities of the executive committee include the pursuit of true federalism, adherence to the constitution, rule of law, independence of the judiciary as well as liaison with the AGF on legal issues affecting any of the States.

The Governor of Plateau State, Mr. Simon Bako Lalong, delivered the welcome address at the event while a former Attorney-General of the Federation, Mr. Kanu Agabi (SAN) delivered the keynote remarks.

The next meeting of the Attorneys-General of the 36 States of the Federation will hold in the second quarter of 2022.

Leave a Reply