Nigeria: President Buhari appoints board, management members for NNPC Ltd

President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria has appointed the Board and Management members of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Ltd.

His spokesman, Mr Femi Adesina, confirmed this development in a statement said this is in accordance with the powers vested on the president in Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act (2021).

According to him, Chairman of the board is Sen. Margret Chuba Okadigbo (Southeast), Mele Kolo Kyari, Chief Executive Officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, Chief Financial Officer.

Other board members are Dr Tajudeen Umar (Northeast), Mrs Lami Ahmed (North Central), Malam Mohammed Lawal (Northwest), Henry Obih (Southeast), Barrister Constance Harry Marshal (South-South), and Chief Pius Akinyelure (Southwest).

According to the media aide, the appointments take effect from the date of the incorporation of the NNPC Ltd.

“Also appointed are Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission.

“They are Dr Nuhu Habib (Kano), Executive Commissioner, Development and Production; Dr Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (Imo), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning and Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (Delta.)

Others are Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, and Jide Adeola (Kogi) and Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration,’’ the statement read.

He stated that the president had earlier appointed the Board Chairman, Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management, and Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts for the commission.

“New appointees at the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Francis Alabo Ogaree (Rivers), Executive Director, Hydrocarbon Processing; Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa) and Executive Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community.

“Mansur Kuliya (Kano), Executive Director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund; Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto), Executive Director, Corporate Services and Administration and Dr Zainab Gobir (Kwara), Executive Director, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning.

“They join the Board Chairman, Executive Director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, the CEO, and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

“For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new Council Members are Mr Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Engr. Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina),’’ Adesina also stated.

President Buhari had last September written to the Senate on the administrative structure amendments to the Petroleum Industry Act.

It included appointment of non-executive board members, removal of the Ministries of Petroleum and Finance from the board of the two new institutions, and the appointment of Executive Directors.

Leave a Reply