Nigeria: Senate confirms Auditor-General, seven RECs appointments

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of Mr Shaakaa Chira as the Auditor-General for the Federation.

It also on Wednesday, confirmed the appointments of seven out of 10 Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission forwarded to it by President Bola Tinubu on Tuesday.

The confirmed RECs are, Etekarnba Umoren (Akwa Ibom), Isah Ehimeakne (Edo), Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti), Abubakar Ma’aji (Gombe), Shehu Wahab (Kwara), Aminu Idris (Nasarawa), and Mohammed Sadiq (Niger).

The three whose appointments were not confirmed due to non-appearance before the Senate are Dr Bunmi Omoseyindemi ( Lagos State), Dr Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers State), and Mr Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara State).

The confirmed RECs are to serve a five-year term each, and can only be removed by the President and a two-thirds vote from the National Assembly.